Special Guest Post: Sascha on not so super-supermarkets

As promised, our very own Sascha is here to regale you with his tale of shopping while I have a night off to wander around Grafton St:

Life with twins is great. Dublin is great. And grocery shopping can, under the right circumstances, be great.

However, grocery shopping with twins in Dublin is most definitely not great.

Exhibit A: Last Saturday morning. I volunteered to take the boys to the supermarket, optimistically thinking I could accomplish three major things in one fell swoop:

1. Get some much-needed groceries for our Hobbit-sized fridge.

2. Bring the boys out to get some air.

3. Be a good husband and son-in-law by giving my wife and mother-in-law some quiet time after being with the boys nonstop for days.

I can report that I did achieve those three items, however there was a great human cost involved. The boys and I survived, but barely. And things will never be the same.

The scene of the actual incident. Looks spacious according to this photo from Daft, but don't let it fool you.

I arrived at our local grocery store, the Superquinn, around 9:15am, knowing that I had a challenge ahead of me. Since I had the double stroller, I had a choice of two maneuvers:

1. The Two-Handed-Backwards-Shopping-Cart-Plus-Forward-Facing-Stroller Roller

OR

2. Balance-the-Basket-on-Top-of-the-Stroller-and-Try-Not-to-Drop-Groceries-on-my-Sons’-Heads

I took one look at the aisles of that supermarket and knew that option number one wasn’t happening. There was barely room for a cart, let alone a double stroller and a cart. That must be why they charge you a Euro to use a shopping cart – as a deterrent.

So, I had no choice. Balance-the-Basket. I rolled my extra large, Americano double stroller down the super narrow, dainty European aisles as I balanced the empty cart on the handles. Look, I appreciate that things in Europe are smaller than they are in the United States. There is less waste here and that’s good. But why cut corners on supermarket aisles? That just isn’t right.

I admit that when it comes to grocery shopping, I am an overachiever. I like to get everything on the list, and plus it out so we don’t have to shop again for a while. That basket was full in no time, and I was feeling pretty proud of myself for not dropping any plums on my sons’ heads. They were pretty mellow, too. But then it was time to check out.

The cashier was ringing me up when it happened. I tried to push the stroller through the aisle so I could bag the groceries, and then…creak. The stroller was stuck. I couldn’t push forward. I couldn’t pull back. Behind me, the line started to grow, people started looking impatient – this was the only aisle open. My formerly mellow sons started to cry, no doubt fearing that they would be stuck in a Superquinn check-out aisle for months. I was suddenly the center of attention. Friendly Irish people didn’t seem so friendly anymore. I apologized meekly. The crying got louder, the stroller wouldn’t budge. What would I do?

When Erin talks about worst-case, nightmare scenarios of living in a city with twins, these are the pictures she paints: being out in public, the twins screaming, causing a scene, being the center of attention. I realized at that moment: I was living her nightmare.

I knew I’d have get the boys out and fold up the stroller to get it unstuck. So as they continued to wail, I unbuckled them. Unfortunately I was stuck on the other side of the stroller from them. C. went limp like a ragdoll and slid to the floor as he does when he’s angry, and G. stomped off towards the ice cream case in a huff. The cashier dashed from behind the counter and tried to distract them with Superquinn super-saver circulars while I madly tried to fold up the stroller. It wouldn’t fold. The line behind me was growing longer. I tried to stay Zen. As a coping strategy, my mind took me miles away. I imagined I was in a nice, spacious, comfy, enormous Target in suburban Connecticut. The check-out aisle was the size of a football field. Bliss.

Things were simpler then. Our shopping carts were SUVs and the aisles stretched on gloriously as far as the eye could see. Target, how we miss ye.

I snapped back to reailty and somehow found the strength to fold the stroller, wrangle the boys, unfold the stroller, get the wriggling boys back into the stroller, bag the groceries in my eco-friendly reusable bags, balance them on the handle, and then promptly slam the stroller into a bucket of flowers, causing the water to spill out across the floor of the store. The last thing I remember is sprinting through the inch of water in my sneakers, pushing the double stroller out of the narrow doors as fast as I could as the boys’ cries rang throughout Superquinn.

From now on, we will be having our groceries delivered.

8 thoughts on “Special Guest Post: Sascha on not so super-supermarkets

  1. (from palacello,-not fleckadini) Oh well, maybe you haven’t been there long enough
    to share in “…the luck of the Irish!” Love, Dad

  2. That’s a good one for the story books. Going to the grocery store with the kids is definitely rated worst outing ever since becoming a parent…in the old days I would stuff Holden and Jamison in the cart which left me little room for anything else, now they just create havoc while running around…hence why the local grocery store refers to me as “Jamison’s mom” (having learned his name since I’m always screaming at him), Target remembers him as the boy who unstrapped himself (at age 2) and got up on the conveyor belt while I turned my head to insert my credit card, and now Sawyer also refuses to sit strapped in without crying so I’m in overload trying to keep track of the older two (who like to hide on the shelves), block out the baby’s crying or hold him and really get nothing done. It’s just not worth eating!! Miss you guys. Love the blog.
    Emily

    • We miss you all, too. At least we do have the option of grocery-delivery. I almost hugged the guy when he came down our lane. Do you have that option around you?

  3. Honestly, I started breaking into a sweat and shuddering at the very thought of this expedition! It reminds me all too well of my many, many less than graceful public moments as a parent. This is one of those classic HOT MESS experiences that you will not forget…and neither will the people who were with you at the grocery store. Undoubtedly, you were not the only one who recounted this story upon returning home! MISS YOU GUYS!!

    • We miss you, too. I am realizing this is a glimpse of what our life would be like with them in NYC, only we’d probably try to drive everywhere. Dublin is surprisingly more car-centric than I would have thought.

    • Not until you get to the sprawl of the ‘burbs, I think. Congrats on your award. Was so great to see a pic of J & J on your blog and remember attending your other L.A. premiere with them.

  4. Pingback: Abandon all hope, ye who enter here | The Other Side of the Road

Leave a Reply

